• alan jordan
    Alan Jordan, Caja Negra and Me

by Jill Gottlieb

I wanted to be a professional actor since I was 12 years old. I studied, practiced, performed, and worked hard until I was 32 years old. Why did I stop? Because when my daughter was eight years old she told her 3rd grade teacher that she didn't have any parents and so she wouldn't be able to write her homework assignment about family. I was in the middle of professional theater production at the time, and it would be my last show for 20 years. In exchange, our family became the focus of our lives, and instead of rehearsals we went on Gottlieb Family Adventures. My husband and I abandoned our 'day jobs' and went to have careers in the business world.

Fast forward to me at 50 years old when I was lucky enough to choose San Miguel as my next home. Little did I know there was English language theater here. Slowly as we settled in and became active members of the very small but vibrant theater community in SMA, I rediscovered and rekindled my love for acting. It took some time to get 'good' again, but as in my youth I studied, practiced and performed as much as I could. I did innumerable play readings, and shows with Players Workshop, and Taylor Korobow. And it was after many years working in SMA, that Alan Jordan asked me to do By The Waters of Babylon. That's when I knew I was 'back.'

Alan is simply the best. I was a huge fan of his. His single-handed performances of House, I Am My Own Wife, and Diary of a Madman, each a nuanced characterization and performance were breathtaking. So when he asked me to act with Erik Zavala in 'Babylon' I jumped at the chance. Little did we know then, but Caja Negra grew from there. And now it's a super talented company of actors, designers, and staff with Alan Jordan as Artistic Director.