• Glenn Wilson
    Every Saturday at Cafe Arab'ella from 9am - 11am.
    ayltx65cbkfkedoo.jpg
    This is from the game Morphy-Jefferson, New York simul, 1859. The black king has just moved from f8 to g8. Morphy to move and checkmate in two moves.

Paul Charles Morphy (June 22, 1837 – July 10, 1884) was an American chess player. He is considered to have been the greatest chess master of his era and an unofficial World Chess Champion.
    Paul Morphy

Players of all levels are welcome; from complete beginners to experts. Depending on turn out and interest we'll have casual games, lessons, or blitz chess.

Cafe Arab'ella
    Vicente Guerrero 1
    San Miguel de Allende
    044 415 197 1666

Across from the Shelter Theater. Cafe Arab'ella always has chess sets and other board games available.

Facebook Page
    Google Map

Cafe Arab'ella has great coffee, and bagels, and eggs, and more.

Also see Meetup: Saturday morning chess.
    1571493600_1571500800_W_T_CWeekly0
  • Glenn Wilson
    1te5hkrx52e4n4oq.jpg
    We are meeting again this Saturday. Last week we had five players including a seven year old total beginner, a good nine year old and three strong adults.

The solution to the chess problem in the original post is:
    Reveal
    1. Qf8+ Rxf8
    2. Ne7#
    or, in words, Queen to f8 check, Rook takes Queen on f8, Knight to e7 checkmate.
  • Glenn Wilson
    We will meet again Saturday June 1, 2019. Same time and place. Everyone interested in chess of any age or playing experience (including no experience) is welcome.
  • Glenn Wilson
    We are playing chess again this Saturday morning 9-11 at Cafe Arabella.

Meanwhile the Women's Candidate tournament is taking place
    in Kazan, Russia, from May 29 to June 19, 2019. Eight strongest female grandmasters will play in the competition with a prize fund of 200,000 Euros. ...